Calm Down

Maybe it’s just what happens when you step back into the real world after a 4-week yoga teacher training intensive…in New York; or maybe it’s just that spring makes you slow your pace and calm the fuck down a bit – especially as winter in NYC is all about doing what you can to keep yourself warm AKA a lot of headless running around, spin classes and drinking. Whatever it is, I’m feeling a little more subdued this month, evident in my sartorial mood board.

I want to permanently have a finger stuck in a jar of almond butter (my current food item obsession), let my hair kink out of its pin-straightness, and just crawl around healthy supermarkets and beach-side promenades in tons of functional flats, dreaming about the day I actually (meaningfully) put pen to paper again.

Vacation is weird. As a former workaholic, I find it awkward. I look at my hands and feet a lot and wonder why they aren’t doing anything. I also practise hand stands, and maybe intentionally drive myself insane to see if I could document it in a piece of fiction at some later stage. Not even sure if this is meant to be a vacation – it’s more like a comfortable visa run turned extended eldest-child-duty visit (my dad is sick, it seems, and I’ve got to be around or else he won’t do anything about it – ya, where I get my workaholic from).

But here we are…five days in with my first weekend back in the Emirates on my doorstep, and I find myself nervous as fuck. Everyone is just so un-calm…like that apt selfie song on the radio…at least that’s what it feels like after you’ve done THAT much yoga (we were in closed-off chair-less quarters wearing tights for 9 hours a day, man). 

But seriously, does anybody else who lives in Abu Dhabi, but has been away for some time and has returned, feel scared that you’re going to find that the social scene (the anything outside of your house scene) is exactly the same and you’re way beyond it but there are people you have to see back in the time warp, and for sure you’re going to feel like them seeing you differently is a bad thing and feel left out, not realising that it’s just that you’ve been outside and developed in a meaningful way? It’s disconcerting. Stressful. Not vacation-esque. 

But I like that place Bentley at the Rosewood Hotel…think I could stomach that…Just if you see me, understand where I’m coming from when you cringe at my attire. The waitress there who two months ago showered me in swag-like praise for my outfit will sure be surprised!

PS. I see that Polyvore has identified the perfume simply as ‘Perfume fragrance’ in the “credits” but, as maybe 99% of you already know, that’s Lady Gaga’s ‘Fame’, which I’ve wanted for a while (didn’t even have to smell it to know I wanted it – the liquid’s black, it’s gaga in a bottle and I’m very gothic about my scents, this one joining YSL’s Belle d’Opium and Tom Ford’s Black Orchid as favourites). Didn’t even have to buy it as it’s on sale in LA right now and my sister – whom I was visiting there earlier this month – picked up two for no reason because that is what she does with money. Hooray!